You won’t like me when I’m angry

» Life with the seedy men of the City

This article made me so angry. Aside from the obvious stereotyping which only works to discourage women from seeking jobs in the city, and the lack of emphasis on one of the key issues – a skills gap with not enough women applying for scientific and mathematical subjects at degree level – there’s just the bad journalism. The facile joining together of a parliamentary report about the under-representation of women and individual horror stories. It would be just as easy to link the report with my blog and say “investment banking is a beacon of equality”. Neither is true.

The report rings a bell at the moment because I am mentoring a graduate. The key job, as I understand it, is convincing her that this kind of rubbish is not true. So that’s really helped: discouraging women from applying to roles in banking because we’re all monsters.

I’m not even taking it personally that I’m dismissed as having the mentality of a teenager. Mostly because I do have the mentality of a teenager. It’s weird. It’s like it almost knows me.

However, quote of the day must be:

“It devolves responsibility to the City to remedy the problem, as reports did in the 1960s, since which time nothing has changed,” said Lawrence Davies, of the solicitors Equal Justice. “People who profit from discrimination do not get their houses in order until there is an economic imperative to do so. The average award in a sex discrimination case is £12,000, the cost of an average corporate lunch.”

I’m eating at all the wrong restaurants.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

